Ecma International Home
contact us
Ecma Site Map


Standard ECMA-108
Measurement of High-frequency Noise emitted by Information Technology and Telecommunications Equipment

5th edition (December 2010)

This Standard ECMA‑108 specifies four methods for the determination of the sound power levels of high-frequency noise emitted by information technology and telecommunications equipment in the frequency range covered by the octave band centred at 16 kHz, which includes frequencies between 11,2 kHz and 22,4 kHz. They are complementary to the methods described in Standard ECMA‑74. The first three methods are based on the reverberation test room technique. The fourth method makes use of a free field over a reflecting plane.

The test conditions which prescribe the installation and operation of the equipment are those specified in ECMA-74.

While the four methods described in this Standard are particularly suitable for information technology and telecommunications equipment, they may also be applied to other types of equipment.

NOTE      The sound power level in the 16 kHz octave band determined in accordance with this Standard typically is subject to a standard deviation of approximately 3 dB.

The following file can be freely downloaded:

File name Size (Bytes) Content
ECMA-108.pdf 845 679 Acrobat (r) PDF file

This Ecma publication is also approved as ISO 9295.

The previous replaced "historical" editions of this Ecma Standard are available here.


Back Back





only search Ecma International

Level A conformance icon, 

          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0