Back to the list

Ecma Secretary General honoured with JPEG award


Geneva, 15 August 2017

Ecma Secretary General, Dr Istvan Sebestyen, was honoured with a JPEG 25th Anniversary award for his long and outstanding involvement in JPEG standardization. Dr Sebestyen was one of the founding members of JPEG in 1986. He was, between 1987 and 2000, the CCITT (later ITU-T) Special Rapporteur responsible for the JPEG standardization.

For more details, please see the JPEG press release:

Dr Sebestyen’s presentation at the meeting on JPEG-1 history and how the royalty-free JPEG patent policy got lost is available here.

For more information: please contact Dr. Istvan Sebestyen, Secretary General of Ecma International. Email: