Back to the list


8-bit single-byte coded graphic character sets - Latin/Hebrew alphabet

2nd edition, December 2000

This Ecma Standard defines a set of 153 graphic characters identified as Latin/Hebrew Alphabet, and specifies the coded representation of each of these characters by means of a single 8-bit byte. None of these characters are “non-spacing”.

The use of control functions, such as BACKSPACE or CARRIAGE RETURN for the coded representation of composite characters is prohibited by this Standard.

Download this standard


CategoryData presentation

SubcategoryCharacter sets and coding

Technical CommitteeTC1 (this TC is no longer active)

ISO number8859-8


  • ECMA-121, 1st edition, July 1987Download