Back to the list


Transport protocol

3rd edition, March 1985

This ECMA Standard specifies

i) five classes of procedures

Class 0 : Simple class,
Class 1 : Basic error recovery class,
Class 2 : Multiplexing class,
Class 3 : Error recovery and multiplexing class,
Class 4 : Error detection and recovery class,

for the connection-oriented transfer of data and control information from one transport entity to a peer transport entity;

ii) the means of negotiating the class of procedures to be used by the transport entities;

iii) the structure and encoding of the transport protocol data units used for the transfer of data and control information.

Download this standard



SubcategoryNot Available

Technical CommitteeTC24 (this TC is no longer active)


  • ECMA-72, 1st edition, January 1981Download
  • ECMA-72, 2nd editionNo file available