Back to the list


8-bit single-byte coded graphic character sets - Latin alphabets No. 1 to No. 4

2nd edition, June 1986

This Ecma Standard defines four 8-bit coded graphic character sets identified as Latin Alphabets No 1 to No 4, and specifies the coded representation of each character by means of a single 8-bit byte.

Characters common to two or more sets are allocated to the same code position. None of these characters are “non-spacing”.

The use of control functions, such as BACKSPACE or CARRIAGE RETURN for the coded representation of composite characters is prohibited by this Standard.

Download this standard


CategoryData presentation

SubcategoryCharacter sets and coding

Technical CommitteeTC1 (this TC is no longer active)

ISO number8859-1, -2, -3 and -4


  • ECMA-94, 1st edition, March 1985Download